Hebden Bridge Piano Festival header image

Keep up to date

Get to know who we’ve booked, when tickets are available
and all the rest of the Piano Festival news
with our occasional newsletter

Rolf Hind

– Posted in: Saturday 27 April 2.30pm

Book now
Waterfront Hall (to 4.45pm, with one interval at approx 3pm, after pre-concert talk) £16/£14/£5

Tickets available online, by post and from Hebden Bridge Town Hall (weekdays). No telephone booking.

2.30pm Pre-concert talk

With pianist Rolf Hind and composer Kerry Andrew. Introduced by Festival Director David Nelson. There will be an interval after the talk.

3.30pm Concert


Robert Reid Allan: Four songs from an Interview with Peter Maxwell Davies
Alasdair Nicolson: Magnus IV
Sally Beamish: Mavis
Darren Bloom: Auriole
Stuart MacRae: Lento in memoriam Peter Maxwell Davies
Rolf Hind: Dark Hug of Time
Gemma McGregor: Always by the Shore
Kerry Andrew: Scuttle (world première)
Peter Maxwell Davies: Sonata Op. 93

Rolf Hind’s tours have taken him from Carnegie Hall to the Proms and all major international concert halls and festivals. A specialist of 20th and 21st century repertoire, he has worked with many composers whose works he premièred, including Ligeti, Messaien, John Adams, Tan Dun, Thomas Ades, James MacMillan and Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, whose piano sonata is the main work in this concert. The remainder of the programme is a series of pieces by contemporary composers including Sally Beamish, Alistair Nicholson and Darren Bloom, written as tributes to Davies.

“Just how many hands does Rolf Hind have?” The Daily Telegraph

Rolf Hind will perform the world première of Scuttle which has been commissioned by the Festival* and composed by Kerry Andrew who has a growing international reputation with her music being performed around the world. A winner of four British Composer Awards, her work has been commissioned, performed and recorded by a wide variety of musicians including The London Sinfonietta and The Hilliard Ensemble.
Her work also featured at the Proms in 2017 and 2018, and recently she was on our screens as the cross-category chair of the judges for the BBC Young Musician of the Year 2018.

*This commission has been sponsored by sponsored by Dr Linda J Patterson OBE

Rolf Hind’s website